In some parts of the country, there is one council that provides all local services (known as a unitary council). However, in Essex, there is a two-tier system. This means there are two levels of local government, namely one county council and several district councils. Each council has its own responsibilities. In addition, some areas also have a parish-tier council.

Chelmsford City Council

Our responsibilities include: 

  • benefits
  • building control
  • car parks and residents parking
  • Chelmsford Crematorium
  • community events
  • community safety, including CCTV
  • Council Tax
  • economy, regeneration and business support
  • elections and committee meetings
  • environmental health
  • homelessness support and enabling social housing
  • Hylands House
  • licensing (including alcohol, animals, gambling, skin piercing and taxis)
  • markets
  • museums
  • parks and green spaces (including allotments and playgrounds in unparished areas)
  • planning applications and planning policy
  • sports and leisure
  • street cleaning
  • theatres and culture
  • waste collection and recycling

Essex County Council 

ECC's responsibilities include:

  • country parks
  • libraries
  • licensing (including chaperones, massage, scaffolding and skips)
  • park and ride
  • public health
  • registrars
  • roads, highways and transportation (including blue badges, gritting, potholes, pavements, speed limits and streetlights)
  • schools and education
  • Shire Hall
  • social care (adults and children)
  • waste disposal and recycling centres
  • youth services

Parish-tier councils 

These are responsible in their area for:

  • allotments
  • cemeteries
  • community halls
  • play areas

Is there something wrong with this page?

You can report issues with the website using our website feedback form, which will go directly to the Web Team. This team will be unable to deal with your enquiry if it is not related to the website.